Secretary Briones leads conferment of this year’s Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

September 25, 2017

PASIG CITY, September 25, 2017 –Department of Education (DepEd) Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones was one of the distinguished officials wholed the awarding of the 2017 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos at the Metrobank Plaza Auditorium, Makati City on September 7, 2017.

The Education Chief congratulated Metrobank for marking its 55th anniversary with the conferment of the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos. “I laud you for choosing the career service recipients from the academe, the military and the police. To this year’s awardees, you have earned our respect and admiration,” Secretary Briones said.

Steered by the theme “Beyond Excellence,” the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos are recognized for rendering exemplary service above and beyond the call of duty. Their accomplishments must have inspired and influenced people, and transformed the community, inscribing a lasting, positive impact to the country. 

The ten awardees consisted of four teachers, three soldiers, and three police officers, who each received a cash incentive of one million pesos and a trophy.

The four outstanding teachers were: Ms. Jennifer Rojo of Neogan Elementary School, recognized as Tagaytay’s Visionary Science Teacher; Mr. Edgar Elago of Magallanes National High School, dubbed as Agusan del Norte’s Culture Coach; Dr. Esperanza Cabrera of De La Salle University, named as Manila’s Master Microbiologist; and Dr. Alonzo Gabriel of the University of the Philippines, hailed as Diliman’s Food Security Advocate.

“I take pride in being part of this glorious event because like four of the awardees, I am and will always be a teacher. Though we come from different fields, there is one thing that binds us – our passion and devotion to our vocation. To our teachers, the Department applauds your triumph as another feather in the cap of the teaching profession,” Secretary Briones added.

The 2017 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos were also bestowed withgold medallions by President Rodrigo Duterte last September 5 in a ceremony held at the Grand Hyatt Manila in Taguig City. The winners were also presented to the members of the Senate last September 11.