About the Region

Geographical Description

Metro Manila, which comprises 16 cities and 1 municipality, is known for its strategic geographical location; hence people of diverse culture converge here to avail of the numerous job opportunities. The region has a total population of 11,553,427. From among the cities, Quezon City has 2,679,450 population or 23.31% to total population, while the municipality of Pateros has the least, 61,940 or 0.54% to total population. It has a land area of 636 sq. kms. and population density of 18,648 persons per sq. km. The populations are from different levels of economic, social, and cultural background working under the major group occupations as government workers, executives, managers, laborers, unskilled workers as well as fishermen. The DepEd National Capital Region is composed of 16 schools divisions and its school population is being served by 517 public elementary schools, 247 public secondary schools, complemented by 1,495 private pre-schools, 1,304 private elementary schools and 820 private secondary schools serving more than two million children in the region.



We dream of Filipinos who passionately love their country and whose values and competencies enable them to realize their full potential and contribute meaningfully to building the nation. As a learner-centered public institution, the Department of Education continuously improves itself to better serve its stakeholders.



To protect and promote the right of every Filipino to quality, equitable, culture-based, and complete basic education where:

· Students learn in a child-friendly, gender-sensitive, safe and motivating environment;

· Teachers facilitate learning and constantly nurture every learner;

· Administrators and staff, as stewards of the institution, ensure an enabling and supportive environment for effective learning to happen; and

· Family, community, and other stakeholders are actively engaged and share responsibility for developing life-long learners. 


Core Values

  • Maka-Diyos
  • Maka-tao
  • Makakalikasan
  • Makabansa