About the Region

The Negros Island Region (Filipino: Rehiyon ng Isla ng Negros; Hiligaynon: Rehiyon sang Isla sang Negros; Cebuano: Rehiyon sa Isla sa Negros; abbreviated as NIR) is the 18th region of the Philippines composed of the provinces of Negros Occidental and Negros Oriental with the highly urbanized city of Bacolod in the island of Negros.
The region was created by virtue of Executive Order No. 183 issued by President Benigno Aquino III on May 29, 2015.

Negros Occidental is subdivided into 13 cities and 19 municipalities, which are further subdivided into 601 barangays. It has the most chartered cities among all the provinces in the Philippines. Although Bacolod serves as the capital, it is governed independently from the province as a highly urbanized city.

Negros Oriental is subdivided into 6 cities and 20 municipalities, with 557 barangays.